What is clean eating?

What is clean eating?

Clean eating is eating healthy, whole, unprocessed foods such as whole grains, vegetables, fruits, healthy proteins and fats; while avoiding unhealthy options such as sugar, salt, refined grains, artificial colors, preservatives and unhealthy fats.  Portion control is key and eating on a frequent basis (3 meals and 2-3 snacks spread throughout the day) is important to fuel your body.  Organic options preferred.

Examples of clean foods (and foods you can eat on the 21 day fix):

oatmeal, eggs, plain yogurt, ricotta cheese, cottage cheese, lean meats, whole grain breads, extra virgin coconut and olive oils, avocado, cheese, beans, lentils, quinoa, whole grain pasta, potatoes (and all other veggies), bananas (and pretty much all other fruits), raw nuts and seeds, salad dressings without added sugar, salt, unhealthy fats (there are some out there).

When I first started eating clean a few months ago…some things I had to purge from my diet:  cereal (wah!  I love cereal!  There are some clean cereals but Frosted Mini-wheats ain’t one of them), deli meats, general baked goods, ranch dressing (I need to start making my own), pretzels, canned soups, packaged pancake/waffle mixes and BUTTER.  I probably miss butter the most, we were good pals.  She is sitting very forlorn in my fridge wondering what she did wrong.  Sorry babe, you’ve been replaced with Coconut Oil.

Before I started eating clean I was resistant because I didn’t want to have to do more cooking than I already did and that’s what it seemed like…but it’s really not more, it’s just different than what you did before.

I’m sure I am missing some information from this overview – if you are reading this and have any tips to add about clean adding, please comment so we can all have the info!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “What is clean eating?

  1. I’m so curious about 21 day fix but the minute I mention this on FB like 50 woman all start talking about being my coach and stuff. I also can’t work out at home so it seems like it might not be for me. You seem to really like it though.

    Like

Leave a Reply

