Cinnamon Squash Stew

Cinnamon Squash Stew

Super healthy and easy soup to make!  I saw this on Instagram, Two_Ickle_Piggies posted it and I asked her to send me her recipe!  I modified it slightly from what she sent, and there are a lot of variations you could do.

IMG_20160427_183207257

Here’s how I made it:

1 TBsp EVOO
1/2 butternut squash, chopped (I bought the precut container at the store and used half)
1 large sweet potato, peeled and chopped
2 red onions, chopped
2 carrots, peeled and chopped
1 clove garlic
1 TBsp curry or 1 tsp tumeric + 1 tsp coriander + 1/4 tsp chili powder + 1 tsp cumin
1/2 c lentils
32 oz low sodium veg or chicken broth
1 tsp cinnamon
TBsp creme fraiche (or cream cheese)

In a large pot, heat the EVOO over medium-high heat and add squash, potato, onions and carrots.  Cook until slightly softened, 6-8 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Add garlic, spices, lentils and broth.  Simmer until lentils are softened and veggies are cooked, approximately 20-25 minutes. Use emulsifier (stick blender) to blend all veggies together to a smooth consistency.  Add cinnamon and cream cheese and stir until combined.

I needed to add a protein to my meal so I stirred in some part skim ricotta.  It was pretty good but it did make the soup milder, I preferred it regular but a good option for 21 day fix folks 🙂  I also sprinkled a little goat cheese on top because, why not?!

21 day fixers – measure out green container of soup for 1 green.  And if you add ricotta, add a red container, and however much goat cheese you use take it out of your blue!

IMG_20160427_182950379

 

Leave a Reply

