Southwest cilantro egg salad

Southwest cilantro egg salad

Hi ya’ll!  Sorry to be gone for so long.  I don’t have a wonderful excuse, besides, well life. And there was that little election last week, which caused me to drink a little bit. Or a lot. But daily life goes on, regardless of the president elect; starting with this delicious southwest cilantro egg salad.

I love a good egg salad but the fat from mayo, not so much.  I still had leftover taco ingredients from last week’s tacos so thought I’d try to combine the two. I thought it turned out prettyyyyy amazing. There are SO many variations to this you could make depending on your taste. Here’s what I did:

Southwest Cilantro Egg Salad (3 servings)
6 hardboiled eggs, chopped and then i used a potato masher to further squish things up
1 slice red onion, diced
1/4 of a green pepper, diced
handful of cilantro, coarsely chopped
2 Tbsp plain non fat greek yogurt
3 Tbsp low sodium salsa (I like the Green Mountain Gringo brand myself)
Jalapeno hot sauce to taste
s&p to taste

picsart_11-15-03-06-22

Mix the eggs, onion, pepper & cilantro. In a separate dish, combine the greek yogurt, salsa, s&p and hot sauce to your taste.  Combine with the egg mixture and you’re all set! Great on top of greens in a wrap! I topped mine with a little more salsa. Pickled jalapenos would have been awesome in this recipe too instead of hot sauce, but I didn’t have any. Ya’ll it was all I could do not to eat the entire dish of egg salad and save some for the next 2 days!!

21 day fix: counts as 1 red per serving

Leave a Reply

