The 5 AM Club Experience

The 5 AM Club Experience

This week I did a challenge to wake up every day at 5am and do a workout. Disclosure: I’m a night owl, I enjoy staying up late and I like my sleep in the morning. My usual routine is having my kids wake me up (they’re usually up around 7 or 7:30am), relocating to the couch where I sleep as long as possible while they watch a morning show until I have to rouse myself to get my son ready for preschool by 9am.

I have several friends who say that getting up early every day is the BEST time to workout!  And I’ve resisted for about a year, telling them how much I would dislike it. Well, lately it’s been getting a little boring and also challenging to do my workouts with my 2.5 year old – my morning or afternoon then revolves around getting my workout done, and my daughter hasn’t been wanting to listen and get off of me when she is climbing on me during a workout, so there are lots of interruptions. She’s adorable, and I don’t mind it at all, but I do want to get the workout done! And I would like to do more social activities with her too versus not making any plans because of my workout needing to get done.

So for these reasons – I tried it out this week. Shocking fact #1 – it wasn’t hard to get out of bed at that time. My alarm went off, I’d jump up and go into the bathroom where I had my workout clothes laid out, slip them on and go downstairs to the workout I had loaded up in the DVD player already. 30 minutes later, workout done. I’d get a peaceful shower afterwards and a relaxing breakfast, and even some FREE TIME while the kids were sleeping! Shocking fact #2 – I loved it! I love the whole thing. It feels great to get it done in the morning. It made my days so much more relaxing, especially because I was able to get a few things done uninterrupted in the mornings. And shocking fact #3 – I didn’t really get tired during the day afterwards.

I did make an effort to get to bed by 10pm (failed the last 2 days of the week and it was more like 10:30). But I was shocked I wasn’t much during the week and I’m not collapsing today (being Friday). If I laid down on the couch for an extended period of time, well, that might be a different situation, hehe but for doing normal activities, I’m good!

What do you think?  Are you a member of the 5am club already? Would you consider it?

2 thoughts on “The 5 AM Club Experience

  1. Great blog Jodi. I may try this challenge. I also preferred to be a night owl & sleep later. Sounds as if you’re very productive throughout the day. Thanks for the interesting blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

