3 weeks to go!

3 weeks to go!

Three weeks left until I run my first marathon, the Myrtle Beach marathon!! Which I am super excited for, in large part due to 2 of my good friends joining me! We have a hotel room for the whole weekend. It definitely is the girls weekend aspect of it that’s so exciting vs the actual running of the marathon, haha! I’m trying to block that part out of my mind. Central to our planning has been a chocolate chip cookie dough filled post race cake. Probably ranks higher than actually running the marathon, but it’s a necessary part in order to consume said cake.

annie-emily-me

Here’s a snap of the 3 of us this past October at the Runway 5k in Charlotte. Really fun race and I plan on doing it again this year!

I did hit a bump in my training this past weekend – during a 15 mile run with my brother, my right foot started hurting. I was able to finish the run, but 3 days later the foot was still very painful and I was still limping. I headed off to a podiatrist, got some xrays – it is not a stress fracture, thank goodness; just inflamed tissue around the 5th metatarsal. I have instructions to ice 2x a day and got an anti-inflammatory cream. I was supposed to do a 20 mile run this weekend – pretty sure it’s not going to happen; but I’m going to see how I feel in another day or two. I’m adjusting training and also my expectations, which feels pretty good, actually. I was really putting a lot of pressure on myself and honestly I don’t think I was there, training wise. I am struggling to get below 9 minute miles on average on my long runs, and I needed to be at 8:30 minute miles to achieve my desired time. So I think I will just aim for under 4 hours and see how it feels during the race. Much less stress on the body and mind.

I’ve settled on my “fueling” option – going with Clif Bloks. They taste delicious and go down easy. They have not bothered my stomach so far. I tried the Gu and the jelly bean things, they were ok but I liked the Clif Bloks better. Also switching up my pre-race breakfast from oatmeal to a bagel with pb&J. It served me well during the 15 mile run so going with it! What’s your long run pre-race fuel?

Leave a Reply

