Maple pumpkin baked oatmeal

Maple pumpkin baked oatmeal

Somehow I am feeling pumpkin-y this spring! Actually, I’ve really been wanting to make a baked oatmeal recipe, and I had leftover pumpkin from the pancakes I made last week, so the baked oatmeal became pumpkin by default. I took my favorite baked pumpkin oatmeal recipe and made a few little tweaks to make it healthier and fit in my portion fix containers.

img_20170227_091921654-01
Maple pumpkin baked oatmeal

img_20170227_091946765_hdr

Ingredients:
1/2 c pecans, chopped (walnuts would be good too)
1.5 c pumpkin puree (I use from a can, just make sure not the pumpkin pie kind!)
3/4 c vanilla unsweetened almond milk (or 2% reg milk) at room temperature (mic for 30 seconds)
2 eggs at room temperature (so the coconut oil doesn’t solidify! Place them in a dish of warm water for a few minutes)
3 Tbsp coconut oil, melted
3 Tbsp pure maple syrup
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 c rolled oats
2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp allspice
1/4 tsp sea salt

Preheat oven to 350. Grease or spray an 8×8 baking pan.
In a large bowl, mix all wet ingredients together. Mix in rolled oats, spices and nuts. Spread in pan and bake approximately 25 minutes until set. Cut into 8 slices (It took me a few minutes to figure out how to get 8 out of this vs my usual 9 slicing method for a square. Here it is to save you some time: X across the middle, then divide it again with a cross. Who says you never use geometry outside of high school?!).

I like to top mine with Oikos Triple Zero French Vanilla greek yogurt and a few more pecans! For container counters: 1 yellow, 1 red(if you do yogurt), 1/2 purple, 1 orange, 2 tsp.

Pureed pumpkin counts as a purple – in it’s original state (chunks) it counts as a green but as a puree, it counts as purple because you can fit more in a container and you get less purple containers. I don’t really get that either, you can listen to Autumn explains why here; but that’s basically how it is!  I think it’s really just to make sure you eat your veggies! If that really bothers you just count it as a green. It’s not going to make a big difference in my opinion unless you are eating 3 cans of it every day, haha. Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

