Apple Cinnamon Oat muffins

Apple Cinnamon Oat muffins

Anyone else enjoy the old produce rack in the grocery store as much as me?

No? You don’t know what that is? Look for a rack by the bakery/produce with bags of brown bananas, bagged organic apples that are a bit soft…cheap produce! I snagged a few organic apples for 99 cents for the bag and since they were a bit soft decided to use them for some muffins.

I found this recipe in my search for one that didn’t use a lot of regular sugar, and then modified it based on what I had at home and wanted to use. I think it was a hit, as my 2 year old ate 6 mini muffins after they were done! I know, I should have cut her off, but they are actually pretty healthy…so I didn’t really mind her making her dinner out of them. She also woke up at 4am and had two full size ones. Ummm, are you growing?? What goes on with toddlers and their sleep patterns?!?  I guess my muffins are just that good it makes you want to wake up at 4am to have some…

Anyways. Hehe. Here’s the recipe!

Ingredients:
1 heaping cup of rolled oats (I used old fashioned)
1 cup white flour (I was going to modify and use whole wheat, but I didn’t want to go too far on the health train here and ruin the recipe – it’s happened to me before – will try whole wheat next time and see how they are!)
1/2 c coconut sugar
1 ripe banana, mashed
1 Tbsp cinnamon
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg (you could probably omit this and just add more applesauce if you prefer)
1 cup unsweetened almond milk (I used almond/coconut blend)
1/3 c unsweetened applesauce
2 large apples or 3-4 small, peeled and grated.

Preheat oven to 350. Grease muffin tins or use silicone (may need to spray paper liners, as there isn’t any fat in these muffins to serve as a non stick agent!)
Place oats in a food processor and pulse until finely ground. Combine with rest of dry ingredients in a large bowl.
Combine wet ingredients separately, gently folding in the grated apple last.
Combine wet and dry ingredients. Once mixed, put in muffin tins. This made one mini muffin tin (24) and about 8 full size muffins for me.
For mini muffins – cook 12-15 minutes; for full size muffins cook 20-25 minutes until toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.

These are very…I don’t want to say the M word, because so many people despise it, so…I’ll just say there are GOOD muffins because of the grated apple. Enjoy!IMG_20170324_163334494-01

Leave a Reply

