Road Trip Snack Bag Mom Hack!

Road Trip Snack Bag Mom Hack!

We do a lot of road trips around here! We live in NC and both of our families live 8-10 hours away (PA & NJ) so we drive up to see them usually twice a year, if not more. We also had some family meet ups in Virginia the past year, which was nice – only about 5-6 hours. With 2 kids (2 and 5) we drive a normal size SUV. So our vehicle is PACKED to the max when we travel.

I usually have barely any foot space as we end up putting a small cooler, a bag of snacks and a bag of entertainment at my feet. I could put these items on the floor at the kid’s feet, and then I’d end up doing 50 back and neck twists by the end of the drive…so I sacrifice the foot space vs the aggravated back.

My kids basically require a snack every five minutes in the car. Do yours or is it just mine? Snack! Snack! Snack! And I really just don’t give a toot after a few hours in the car, pretty much anything goes at that point. I do try to pack some healthy snacks but, I also don’t really want them having to go to the bathroom if I load them up with fruit SO we do have quite a bit of salty snacky things. Goldfish are the special treat we get for road trips as I don’t really buy them on a normal basis at home (I read an article about how terrible they are, probably on Facebook. Yeah, I know they are probably fine. They eat enough in the road trips to make up for it anyways).

So I generally use a semi-structured bag, reusable grocery bag or Trader Joe’s paper bag and carefully pack all snacks in a neat and tidy order. By the end of the ride that thing is a disorderly crumpled intermingled mess and I am digging through it to find what I want and crushing the stray goldfish and pretzels in my annoyance.

Well. Not this time. I present to you, the compartmental travel snack bag (aka the 6 pack wine holder). For a shorter trip, a 6 pack beer holder would probably also work quite wonderfully.

snack bag 1

 

There is a gap at the bottom between the compartments in my bag, which I stuffed with a few individual packets of veggie straws (which are basically like pillows. They have a lot of air to protect that precious cargo inside, one would presume). Then each compartment got it’s snacks.

snack bag 2

I’m pretty pleased with this idea. And I’d love to hear what you do for road trips when space in your vehicle is limited! What are your mom hacks??

snackbag

2 thoughts on “Road Trip Snack Bag Mom Hack!

  1. Very clever way to travel. Having accessible snacks minimizes the need for additional rest stops. As far as food options are concerned, children and adults should practice a similar philosophy; 80+% healthy and 10-20% comfort foods. Creating this habit helps prevent children from developing hormonal cravings that lead to health complications as they age.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

