Healthy chocolate banana waffles!

Healthy chocolate banana waffles!

First timer over here for the chocolate waffles, and I have to say I am definitely a fan!! My kids: one had already eaten a plum and declined waffles. The other ate Cheerios and also declined a waffle. Whaaaat!?  I ate 2 eggs with a turkey sausage/mushroom and onion scramble, and being the good mom that I am, had to eat at least one waffle to taste test it and make sure it was edible. It was good plain and that’s how I ate it! It would have been over the top amazing with butter and syrup, as would pretty much anything, but I decided to not go too crazy since I’m *trying* to stick to a lower carb plan for this week following the week 3 Shift Shop nutrition plan and workout. More about that in another post!

The original recipe can be found here – this is listed as an allergen free recipe. I didn’t have buckwheat flour, so I used whole wheat flour+ almond meal so it took away the gluten free element. It also resulted in a drier mix so then I had to modify and add more egg & milk. Here’s what I did below and it turned out perfect.

Chocolate banana waffles

1/2 c whole wheat flour
1/4 c almond meal or almond flour
1/4 c unsweetened cocoa powder (baking cocoa)- I used Ghirardelli 100% unsweetened cocoa
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon
1 medium banana, mashed
1 TBsp coconut oil, melted and cooled
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 eggs
1/2 – 3/4 c milk

Combine dry ingredients, set aside. Combine wet ingredients until mixed – start with 1/2 cup milk. Combine wet and dry ingredients. If you think the batter is too thick, add an additional 1 TBsp of milk at a time and combine. I probably added 2-3 TBsp in addition to the 1/2 cup. Scoop into waffle maker and cook according to your device’s instructions! I have an Oster large waffle maker, I had mine on second to highest heat setting and cooked for 5 minutes. This yielded 3 full size waffles for me. I think next time I make this, I will add another banana (or applesauce) to make it a little sweeter, which will probably change the consistency a bit but I think it will be good. Let me know if you try them and like them!

IMG_20170730_085627684-01

 

 

Leave a Reply

